Royal Enfield Interceptor 650 Wins the Prestigious IMOTY 2019 Award

Royal Enfield Interceptor 650 has won the prestigious ‘Indian Motorcycle of the Year’ IMOTY 2019 award by defeating 12 other motorcycles available in India. The second position was bagged by Yamaha R15 V3 while third went to TVS Apache RR 310. Sponsored by JK Tyre, the IMOTY has successfully completed the twelfth year. The jury deciding on the best motorcycle includes automobile experts coming from various renowned online portals and publications. They go through multiple parameters like design, build quality, fuel efficiency, practicality, performance, and technical innovation before concluding the results. Above all, the compatibility of the motorcycle with Indian roads is also judged.

The jury panel for IMOTY 2019 had Devesh Shobha and Debabrata Sarkar (Top Gear India), Shubhabrata Marmar and Abhay Verma (Overdrive), Arup Das and Jared Solomon (AutoX), Aspi Bhathena and Sarmad Kadiri (Bike India), Rahul Ghosh and Abhik Das (Auto Today), Sirish Chandran and Aninda Sardar (Evo India), Kartik Ware and Raunak Ajinkya (Motoring World), Pablo Chaterji (Man’s World India), and Vikrant Singh (BikeWale) evaluating the twelve exclusive products with striking performance and more than just a couple of reasons to consider for the top spot. Royal Enfield won the award by beating the two most celebrated full-faired motorcycles of this year, the Yamaha R15 V3 and TVS Apache RR 310.

The twelve bikes competing for IMOTY 2019 were RE Interceptor 650, Yamaha R15 V3, TVS Apache RR 310, TVS Apache RTR 160 4V, BMW G310R, BMW G310GS, Suzuki GSX-S750, Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT, Hero Xtreme 200R, Honda CBR650F, Triumph Tiger 800, and the SWM Superdual T. Every member of the Jury has given 25 points that need to be divided among a minimum of five motorcycles, with 10 as the maximum for the one they consider the winner. The IMOTY 2019 award was presented to Siddhartha Lal, CEO of Royal Enfield by Dr Raghupati Singhania, Chairman, and MD, JK Tyre. The winning certificate has the signatures of the entire Jury panel.

You May Like:  Hop OXO Electric Motorcycle Launched in India at Rs 1.25 Lakh